Lepelle-Nkumpi Municipality is one of the local municipalities within the Capricorn District Municipality in Limpopo Province. The municipality is located 55km south of the district municipality and Polokwane city. The municipality is pre-dominantly rural with a population of 227 965 and covers 3,454.78km, which is 20.4% of the district's total land area. The municipality is divided into 29 wards, four of them being a township called Lebowakgomo, one of the Capricon district growth point. All sittings of the Provincial Legislature takes place at Lebowakgomo Old Parliament for the former homeland.

Social facilities available within the municipality include 108 primary schools, 90 secondary schools, 1 FET College, 21 primary health care clinics, 3 hospital, 4 police stations and one magisterial court.